Ayurveda - it's Elementary!

According to Ayurveda, the Universe is made from five elements: earth, water, fire, air and ether. These elements are represented in us by something Ayurveda calls the doshas, which come in three main flavours: vata, pitta and kapha.

These three doshas are each representatives of particular elements:


vata - air & ether  /  pitta - fire & water  /  kapha - earth & water

The doshas can also mix with each other to provide more complex combinations of those elements, for example vata-pitta, pitta-kapha, or even a blend of all three vata-pitta-kapha, though this is less common.


How does this apply to you and your health?

The doshas are the key to our health and peace of mind, sanskrit word dosha literally translates as "fault" because of the doshas can be the cause of imbalance or disease.

The doshas are influenced by many things - food types, weather, the seasons, our emotional state, our activities and more. Learning the basics of how to keep your doshas in check by getting some basic understanding of Ayurveda and then making supportive lifestyle adjustments is the key to good immunity, health, a stable and clear mind, emotional balance, and a long life.

Understanding your dosha(s) and how to keep them balanced puts you firmly in the driver's seat where your own health is concerned.

Related Articles on Ayurveda:


Technorati Tags: , ,


Ayurveda HealingAnanga